What Does Louisiana's "No Pay/No Play" Law Mean?
When it comes to making sure that you pay your car insurance, the state of Louisiana is serious. In fact, the state has enacted a law commonly referred to as “no Pay/No Play.” What this means is that if you fall on hard times and are unable to pay for car insurance, or accidentally miss a payment and lapse in coverage, you could face big financial consequences if you are in a car wreck in Louisiana. According to Louisiana’s No Pay/No Play law found at Louisiana Revised Statute 32:866, an uninsured or underinsured motorist in a not-at-fault Baton Rouge car wreck, is not allowed to collect the first $15,000 of bodily injury damages, and the first $25,000 of property damages from the at-fault party’s car insurance policy. You read that correctly. Louisiana is so serious about making sure that all drivers carry car insurance, that uninsured and underinsured motorists are on the hook for thousands of dollars in medical and property damages even if the car wreck they were in was caused by someone else.
So If I’m Uninsured and Someone Causes a Wreck and Injures Me, Am I Completely Out of Luck
The good news for uninsured and underinsured motorists is that there are some exceptions to Louisiana’s No Pay/No Play law. As a Baton Rouge personal injury attorney, I am extremely knowledgeable of these exceptions. If you’re an uninsured motorist and you were in a Baton Rouge car wreck caused by someone else, here’s how I can help you get around Louisiana’s No Pay/No Play Law:
- Your Car Was Hit When You Were Legally ParkedParking lot accidents happen all the time. Baton Rouge motorists drive too fast in parking lots, are looking at their cell phones, or are otherwise distracted and hit parked cars. How is it your fault if you’re not even driving when your car is hit? Thankfully, the state of Louisiana recognizes that even if you don’t have car insurance, you shouldn’t be responsible for paying for any bodily injury or property damages if your car is legally parked at the time of an accident, even if you don’t have any car insurance, or don’t have enough insurance as is required by state law. If you’re an uninsured motorist and your car was parked while it was hit, call me so I can evaluate your case and help you win the insurance payments you deserve.
- The Other Driver Was Under the Influence of Alcohol or Another Mind-Altering Substance
If the at-fault driver was cited for driving under the influence at the time of the accident and is later convicted. Since the other driver needs to be convicted in order for this exception to apply, it is important to make sure that someone familiar with the legal system tracks the progress of the driver’s case to make sure that you don’t lose your rights because of some plea deal in the driver’s criminal case. As an experienced Baton Rouge attorney, I know how to stay on top of the at-fault driver’s case and the importance of staying in contact with the prosecutor to protect your rights.
- You’re An Out of State Driver Who Was Passing Through Louisiana When You Were in a Baton Rouge Car Wreck
Louisiana may have strict insurance laws for its own motorists, but it recognizes it can’t enforce these laws on residents of other states. If you are an out of state driver whose state doesn’t require you to carry liability insurance and someone hits your car while you’re in Baton Rouge, you can get around Louisiana’s No Pay/No Play Law. I know it’s difficult to be dealing with a car wreck in another state, so trust me as your Baton Rouge personal injury attorney and I can deal with all of the local authorities for you.
- You Were Hit By Someone Who Was Breaking Certain Laws
There’s no doubt about it – Louisiana is tough on crime. That’s why the state’s No Pay/No Play Law doesn’t apply to uninsured or underinsured motorists if they were in a car accident caused by someone driving while intoxicated, someone who intentionally caused the Baton Rouge wreck (as is the case in certain road rage incidents), someone who fled the scene of the car accident or someone who was in the accident while also committing a felony. Thank goodness Louisiana recognizes that drivers like you who can’t afford car insurance shouldn’t be responsible for paying for bodily injuries or property damages if you were hit by a criminal!
- You Were a Passenger in a Car of Someone Who Was Uninsured
If you’re riding in a car with a friend or family member who doesn’t have car insurance, it’s not your fault they aren’t properly covered. Louisiana recognizes this, which is why the No Pay/No Play Law doesn’t apply to passengers of uninsured or underinsured car accident victims.
Don’t Let The Insurance Companies Tell You That You Don’t Qualify for Benefits
If you were in a car accident and are being told you can’t collect damages because of Louisiana’s No Pay/No Play Law, always get a consultation from a Baton Rouge personal injury attorney like myself, first. As you can see from the list above, there are several exceptions to this law, ones that I’m ready to help you pursue so you can get the damages you deserve. Call me today for a free consultation at (225) 384-6760.